Day 16 of the Somethings Challenge: A book

Day 16: A book you’ve read that changed your views on something.

 

So once, a friend gave me

Captivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman’s Soul, revised and expanded

 
 
I was at a low point in my life, although it was very immature of me. I believe I was 17, yearning and longing for a boyfriend like my friends had. I was the only single one. So I read the book and it made me go all girly when I read that the God of the universe gives me love notes every day (in the Bible, sending signs that He’s there, etc). I got really religious for awhile, and I vowed that I would start reading those love notes more often. That has faded, but I still try to make a conscious effort to think about Him and see the signs He gives me every day.
 
Like, the other day, I was driving to church and I made it from the traffic light two blocks from my house all the way to my church (which is basically down the one street, but several miles) and I caught all the green lights. That street is littered with traffic lights that one might have to stop at for those several miles, ruining my 30.3mpg record on my car. But that day, I made all the green lights. Maybe it was just my timing, but I decided to take it as a “Here you go, daughter, enjoy a simple pleasure.”
 
I’m getting to one of those low points in my life again, and now that I’m writing this post, I think I need to read that book again and start reading the love notes more often again. I need that hole in my heart filled again. Because I sure have been in a low spot lately.
Leave a Reply

