Day 15 of the “Somethings” 30Day Challenge

Day 15: A band/musical artist whose music impacted your life.

Of course, I’m going to have to write about Avenged Sevenfold here. Until my senior year in high school (which ended in 2009), I had no idea who Avenged Sevenfold was or what their music was like. But my boyfriend at the time introduced me to them with the song Dear God, and my best friend gave me a copy of Trashed and Scattered. I was in love. Music-gasm love.

I play cello, so I’m very into classical music and subtle harmonies and time signatures and key signatures and accidentals. Most artists nowadays have no idea what these elements of music are. But Avenged Sevenfold utilizes everything that makes me love music. Their time changes and accidentals and harmonies.. oh, the harmonies between Synyster Gates and Zacky Vengeance and their guitars.. to me, it’s amazing. And it’s… well, I’m not exactly sure what kind of genre they are.. hard rock? Alternative? Metal? Whatever they’re considered, they have rough beats and slow melodies alike, harmonies and screaming.

And they actually have somewhat of a Biblical vibe every once in awhile. Dear God, Afterlife, Beast and the Harlot (which includes a line, “Fallen Now Is Babylon the Great), although they do have some songs that completely go against everything Christian (A Little Piece of Heaven, Requiem). Either way, their lyrics are very deep at times and there are several songs that have lyrics that hit a chord in my very soul.

Honestly, I could listen to Avenged Sevenfold all day, every day, for the rest of my life and not get tired of listening to them.

Honorable Mentions: Demon Hunter (Christian Metal!!! Yes!!!) , Skillet (Christian Rock!)
These two bands are a close second and third when it comes to favorites.

Leave a Reply

