Thankful

So this is a post about how much I’m thankful for. I know plenty of people who have it better than me and multitudes who have it worse than me, so I figured I’d post about being thankful for things.

  1. I’m alive, 22 years old, and healthy. I had a minor heart complication in high school but we found out it was just stress-induced and I haven’t had much problem with it since I went to the cardiologist.
  2. I grew up with both parents who haven’t divorced each other (or much worse, haven’t passed away or been sick) and who raised me to be a respectful, productive member of society who tries not to exclude anyone from my respect.  
  3. I haven’t ever had the experience of WANTING anything. I mean, wanting a new shirt or minor stuff like that, of course, but not wanting something necessary like food, water, shelter, things like that. My parents always had more than enough to take care of me and my older brother, and although they did tell us “no” when we asked for something a lot of times, that made us better people who understood what it was to work for what we wanted.
  4. I inherited my mom’s car when I was sixteen years old. It happened because of an accident my dad was in when he was driving the car, but thankfully no one was hurt, the other party’s insurance paid for the repair because it was the other party’s fault, and I got the car after the repairs were finished and my mom got a brand new car. Not only did I get a car when I was sixteen and first had my license, but it’s a sports car– Mitsu Eclipse. And I still have that car to this day, although I’m planning on trading it in around December of this year.
  5. I graduated high school, community college, AND university. I have a student loan to pay for my two years at the university, but I was immensely lucky and I won a scholarship from the Wolslager Foundation that completely paid for my community college tuition. All I paid for at that time was gas for the car, and I actually think I had a little bit left over from that scholarship that I put toward the next semester of community college.
  6. In my first year at the university, my current boss called me out of the blue and offered me a temporary job with the company I now work for, to cover for the employees when they went on vacation. As time went on, she kept asking me back to cover for someone else and I earned good money doing it. When I graduated with my Bachelor’s degree, she hired me full time and that’s where I am now. I didn’t have to stress about looking for a job like most people do, and I’m paid slightly over minimum wage.
  7. I haven’t lost anyone I love or anyone I know personally due to sickness such as cancer or a serious accident or anything like that. In fact, I’ve been to many more weddings than I have been to funerals, and the funerals I have been to were those of people my parents tangentially knew, as far as I can remember.
  8. I have a boyfriend who cares about me a lot (I won’t call it love because we’ve only been together two months) and who takes care of me and has a plan for his future. Even if that plan takes him to a different city and it splits us up, I’ll be thankful because I experienced a great guy like he is. Also, I had a great boyfriend before my current one who did love me with all his heart, although he and I didn’t make it as a couple. But I am thankful for having experienced his love and loving him, while it lasted.

I’m sure there are about a million more things I can be thankful for– the simple pleasures in life like the way the desert smells after the rain, the rain itself, a nice fire in winter, watching a butterfly float on a summer breeze. But those are my biggest blessings and I am indescribably thankful to God for allowing me to enjoy a privileged life, and I hope never to let Him down after He has given me all these wonderful things and continues to give them to me.

I hope this post touches you or at least reminds you that there are some things to be thankful for, even in the darkest part of your life. One of my friends told me this when I was down once, and if you’re in a dark spot in your life I hope it helps you:

It is always darkest before the dawn.

I’m not sure who said that quote or where it came from, but it helped me through a down time and I’d like to pass it on. And I hope you might try to make a list of things you’re thankful for, no matter how short it is, because even one blessing is worthy of gratitude.

Leave a Reply

